www.uzspb.uz  
UZBEKISTAN SOCIETY FOR
THE PROTECTION OF BIRDS
 
Russian

FOR THE BRIGHTER FUTURE OF SOCIABLE LAPWING

The Uzbekistan Society for the Protection of Birds started implementation of practical actions aimed at raising awareness of non-governmental and governmental conservation bodies, educational institutions and local communities of Kashkadarya region about Sociable Lapwing as one of the world's rarest birds.

Sociable Lapwing is a critically endangered species that is subject to a catastrophic risk of extinction. Talimarzhan reservoir in Kashkadarya region is the place where half of its world population stops during autumn migration. The UzSPB initiative on this rare species preservation has been approved and supported by Kashkadarya Territorial Department of the Ecological Movement of Uzbekistan, the Bio-inspection of Kashkadarya and Surkhandarya regions, and the Union of Hunters and Fishermen.

On June 26, 2018 the meeting in the conference hall of JV 'Gissar Neftegaz' in Karshi brought together representatives of the Ecological Movement of Uzbekistan, inspectors of bio-inspection of Kashkadarya and Surkhandarya regions, staff of the Union of Hunters and Fishermen, the governance and the rangers of Sundukli and Dehkanabad hunting farms, and lecturers of Karshi State University.

The UzSPB CEO, R.D. Kashkarov spoke about UzSPB activities aimed at Conservation of species and territories and noted that the work to preserve Sociable Lapwing and the territory of Talimarzhan is among UzSPB's high priority objectives for coming years.

In the presentation 'Sociable Lapwing is our very important guest' UzSPB Education Coordinator, O.R. Kashkarov said that Talimarzhan is the only Sociable Lapwing stopover and roosting site on its autumn migration route from Kazakhstan to India. The main threats to this species are overgrazing, which leads to desertification and a reduction in the fodder base. Locals and hunters can also represent a possible threat because this bird is not afraid of people. Therefore, UzSPB representatives urged staff and rangers of the bio-inspection to protect this bird from any possible disturbance.

Since care of the Sociable Lapwing means close cooperation with environmental organizations, stakeholders identified on the meeting were invited to participate in observations of the Sociable Lapwing together with UzSPB staff in October 2018. Inspectors, rangers and hunters who wished to participate in this fieldwork will be trained how to observe this bird. In future, this will allow them to join Sociable Lapwing Monitoring Programme.

During the meeting, inspectors and hunters received information about Lesser White-fronted Goose - endangered species that can be observed on Talimarzhan on migration and wintering. Staff of the Bio-inspection, Union of Hunters and Fishermen and rangers were given posters and identification tables with the differences between Lesser White-fronted Goose and White-fronted Goose.

On the same day, UzSPB representatives visited regional Bio-inspection and erected banners with pictures and emotional calls to take care of Sociable Lapwing in one of the rooms. During the installation of banners, the Head of the Bio-inspection E. Polatov stressed the need for meetings and events aimed at informing about rare and endangered bird species. He also asked UzSPB to produce and provide their organization with an additional set of banners to install in one of the offices.

On June 27, 2018, UzSPB staff visited school 20 of Nuristan village in Nishan district of Kashkadarya region to meet school director, administration, biology and Russian language teachers and the psychologist. UzSPB representatives told teachers and school administration about the species and the need for urgent measures to protect it. Despite the summer holidays, 22 students of 6, 8, 9 and 10 years took part in the meeting. Participants learned that in October almost half of all Sociable Lapwing remaining in the world would stop close to their houses; they will need respect and care.

In order to understand information about Sociable Lapwing better, students of the school were invited to play 'Sociable Lapwing Migration' game. Together with schoolchildren and teachers the school director took part in t game. The meaning of the game was to demonstrate visually difficulties and threats that Sociable Lapwings can face during their flight from nesting places in Kazakhstan to wintering grounds in India. Participants of the game also learned threats these birds could expect on their roosting sites at Talimarzhan reservoir. For example, during the game one of the "Sociable Lapwings" was disturbed by curious children, another was shot by hunters who took advantage of the fact that birds were not afraid of people. Participants of the game promised to take care of these rare birds in the fall, and to tell their relatives and friends that Sociable Lapwings are very rare. At the end of the meeting, banners were hanged in the biology room, which will remind children that Lapwings needs to be protected from all kinds of disturbance. The school also handed over the models of these birds, which will make it possible to acquaint pupils with their features in biology lessons.

Banners were also hung in one of the rooms of the primary school in Jayran village, a branch of school 20, which is located on the shore of Talimarzhan. The biology teacher promised to speak about Sociable Lapwing again to pupils of both schools at the beginning of the school year and to tell us when birds will be seen in the vicinity of Nuristan and Jayran settlements.

In October 2018, the UzSPB plans to carry out field research on number, distribution and nutrition of Lapwings at Talimarzhan. In parallel with studies, a field training to monitor the species will be organized for the staff of the bio-inspection. It is also planned to open 'Sociable Lapwing' club in the school of Nuristan village. Altogether, this will allow launching a Monitoring Programme for Sociable Lapwing, based on the participation of local residents and staff of nature conservation organizations in Kashkadarya region.

Supported by: BirdLife International RSPB Darwin Initiative

© Compiled by Oleg Kashkarov
  Webmaster Ernest Khurshut: uznix@narod.ru | Fishes of Uzbekistan
Last modified: 04.07.2018

www.uzspb.uz  
ОБЩЕСТВО ОХРАНЫ
ПТИЦ УЗБЕКИСТАНА
 
English

ПОЗАБОТИМСЯ О БУДУЩЕМ КРЕЧЕТКИ!

Общество охраны птиц начало осуществлять практические действия, направленные на привлечение внимания общественных экологических, государственных природоохранных организаций, образовательных учреждений и местных жителей Кашкадарьинской области к одной из самых редких птиц в мире - кречетке.

Напомним, что в Кашкадарьинской области на водохранилище Талимаржан во время осеннего пролета отмечается половина всей мировой популяции кречетки - критически угрожаемого вида, подверженного катастрофическому риску вымирания. Инициатива Общества по сохранению кречетки получила всяческое одобрение и поддержку со стороны Кашкадарьинского территориального отделения Экодвижения Узбекистана, Биоинспекции по Кашкадарьинской и Сурхандарьинской областям, а также Узбекохотрыболовспортобъединения.

26 июня 2018 года в конференц-зале СП "Гиссар Нефтегаз" в г. Карши собрались представители Экологического движения Узбекистана, инспектора биоинспекций по Кашкадарьинской и Сурхандарьинской областям, сотрудники Узбекохотрыболовспортобъединения, начальник и егеря Сундуклийского и Дехканабадского приписного охотхозяйства, а также преподаватели Каршинского Госуниверситета - всего 27 человек.

Директор Общества охраны птиц Узбекистана Р.Д. Кашкаров рассказал о деятельности Общества по сохранению редких видов и территорий и отметил, что работа по сохранению кречетки и территории Талимарджана входит в число приоритетных направлений Общества на ближайшие годы.

В презентации "Кречетка - очень важный гость" Координатор Общества охраны птиц по образованию О.Р. Кашкаров рассказал о том, что Талимарджан является единственным местом остановки кречетки во время осенней миграции из Казахстана в Индию. Основными угрозами для кречетки являются перевыпас скота, который приводит к опустыниванию и сокращению кормовой базы. Возможную угрозу также могут представлять местные жители и охотники поскольку эта птица не боится людей. Поэтому представитель Общества охраны птиц призвал сотрудников биоинспекции и егерей защитить кречетку от любых возможных факторов беспокойства.

Поскольку забота о кречетки подразумевает тесное сотрудничество с природоохранными организациями, собравшимся было предложено принять участие в наблюдениях за кречеткой вместе с сотрудниками Общества охраны птиц в октябре 2018 года. Желающие внести свой вклад в сохранение кречетки обменялись контактами с сотрудниками Общества. Инспектора и егеря, изъявившие желание участвовать в работе Общества, будут обучены навыкам наблюдения за кречеткой, что в будущем позволит им стать участниками программы мониторинга этого редкого вида.

Во время встречи, помимо кречетки, инспектора и егеря получили информацию о гусе пискульке - угрожаемом виде, который на пролете и зимовке отмечается на той же территории что и кречетка. Сотрудникам биоинспекции, Узбекохотрыболовобъединения и егерям охотхозяйств были переданы плакаты и определительные таблицы с отличиями гуся пискульки от белолобого гуся.

В тот же день сотрудники Общества посетили региональную Биоинспекцию по Кашкадарьинской и Сурхандарьинской областям и повесили в одном из кабинетов баннеры с фотографиями кречетки и призывами позаботиться об этой редкой птице. В процессе установки баннеров начальники биоинспекции Э. Полатов подчеркнул необходимость проведения встреч и мероприятий, направленных на информирование о редких и исчезающих видах птиц. Он также попросил сотрудников Общества изготовить и предоставить биоинспекции дополнительный комплект баннеров о кречетке для установки в одном из кабинетов. В скором времени баннеры будут переданы в инспекцию.

27 июня 2018 года сотрудники Общества охраны птиц Узбекистана посетили школу №20 поселка Нуристан в Нишанском районе Кашкадарьинской области где встретились с директором, заведующими учебной частью, учителем биологии, русского языка и психологом. Сотрудники Общества рассказали учителям и представителям администрации школы о кречетке и необходимости срочных мер для ее охраны. Несмотря на летние каникулы, участие во встрече приняли 22 ученика 6, 8, 9 и 10 классов. Собравшиеся узнали, что в октябре в окрестностях их домов остановится на отдых почти половина всех оставшихся в мире кречеток, которые будут нуждаться в бережном отношении и заботе.

Для того чтобы закрепить информацию о кречетке, ученикам школы было предложено сыграть в игру "Миграция кречетки". Вместе со школьниками участие в игре приняли учителя и директор школы. Смысл игры заключался в том, чтобы наглядно продемонстрировать детям трудности и угрозы, с которыми кречетки могут столкнуться во время перелета от мест гнездования в Казахстане к местам зимовки в Индии. Участники игры также узнали, какие угрозы могут ожидать кречеток во время отдыха на водохранилище Талимарджан. Так, к примеру, во время игры одну из "кречеток" побеспокоили любопытные дети, другую подстрелили охотники, которые воспользовались тем, что кречетка не боится людей. Участники игры обещали позаботиться о кречетке осенью, а также рассказать родственникам и друзьям, что эта птица очень редкая. В завершении встречи в кабинете биологии были повешены баннеры, которые еще не раз напомнят детям о том, что кречетку нужно оберегать от всякого рода беспокойств. Школе были также переданы макеты кречеток, которые позволят ознакомить учеников с определительными признаками этой редкой птицы на уроках биологии.

Баннеры были также повешены в одном из кабинетов начальной школы пос. Джайран, которая является филиалом школы №20 и расположена практически на берегу Талимаржана. Учитель биологии обещала повторно рассказать про кречетку ученикам обеих школ в начале учебного года и сообщить нам, когда кречетки будут замечены в окрестностях поселков Нуристан и Джайран.

В октябре 2018 года Общество охраны птиц планирует провести полевые исследования, направленные на детальное изучение численности, распространение и питания кречетки в районе Талимарджана. Параллельно с исследованиями для сотрудников биоинспекции будет проведен полевой тренинг по наблюдению за кречеткой. В школе поселка Нуристан планируется открыть клуб "Кречетка". Это позволит начать программу мониторинга кречетки, основанную на участии в наблюдениях, прежде всего, местных жителей и сотрудников природоохранный организаций Кашкадарьинской области.

Supported by: BirdLife International RSPB Darwin Initiative

При использовании материалов с сайта ссылка на источник обязательна
Материалы сайта подготовил Олег Кашкаров
  Вебмастер Эрнест Хуршут: uznix@narod.ru | Рыбы Узбекистана
Изменено: 04.07.2018