www.uzspb.uz  
UZBEKISTAN SOCIETY FOR
THE PROTECTION OF BIRDS
 
Russian

International Spoonbill Working Group

Newsletter

Volume 5,
April 2008

EDITORIAL

This fifth issue of the Spoonbill newsletter arrives more or less 2 years after the fourth issue. During this period, we have been preparing the International Spoonbill Action Plan for AEWA. It was an intensive and exciting period during which we have collected information from 75 countries. The Action Plan was written in English but a French version has been prepared too, so that it can easily be understood by the French speaking community, in particular in Africa. To our knowledge, this is the first and (so far) the only one in both languages.

This newsletter includes some of the talks presented during the workshop held in October 2007, in the Djoudj National Park (Senegal). This meeting was mainly devoted to development of the Action Plan and most of the debates revolved around the actions to be taken for the different populations.

Patrick TRIPLET, Otto OVERDIJK and MICHAEL SMART




Spoonbill ringing in Uzbekistan, 2008

Dr. Evgeniya Lanovenko, Institute of Zoology of Uzbek Academy of Sciences

Uzbekistan is situated in the central part of Central Asia between Turkmenistan, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Tajikistan and Afghanistan. In the first part of 20th century Spoonbills inhabited flooded land and lakes of the Syrdarya and Amudarya Rivers, their deltas and islands of the Aral Sea.

Intensive development of land use and water resources from the middle of the last century was the reason for the Aral crisis which in the 1980s led to the degradation of Amudarya and Syrdarya River Deltas. Spoonbill was among the species which lost their habitats. It is known that in the 1980s on some water bodies of Aral Sea region their colonies still existed (Lukashevich, Ametov, 1986). Periodical appearance of Spoonbill on water bodies of central and southern Uzbekistan during the breeding season was recorded at the end of the last century. In the present time there is a small colony of Spoonbill which has existed reliably for the several years not far from Bukhara town on Tudakul Lake.

Preparation of the Spoonbill International Action Plan, initiated in 2007 by the International Spoonbill Working Group on behalf of AEWA, showed a shortage of information about the current status of this species in Uzbekistan, a need for research on the current status of Spoonbill in Central Asia and for detection of geographical connections between birds from the small colonies which have survived in the region. For realization of these tasks we have contact with the Spoonbill Working Group and the "Ivolga" student ornithological club from Bukhara State University. In both cases we have found interest and support. The Working Group provided instructions and colored rings for marking Spoonbills.

The IBA project in Uzbekistan (which has worked under the BirdLife International program since 2005) also wished to support participation by the student club in research on Tudakul Lake which is one of 30 IBAs existing in the republic. The Head of the club, Muhtar Turaev, invited initiative students to participate in this project. Project guidance will be realized through the Institute of Zoology of the Academy of Sciences of Uzbekistan by the national coordinator on waterbird census, Dr. Evgeniya Lanovenko.

Ringing is to be carried out over several years. Project information will be placed on the IBA UZ website. At the same time information about bird ringing will be distributed through the IBA network, among student ornithological clubs and ecological NGOs which will help to create a network of voluntary observers. We hope that people from other countries will help us to get information about Spoonbill marking in Uzbekistan.

Supported by: BirdLife International RSPB Darwin Initiative

© Compiled by Oleg Kashkarov
  Webmaster Ernest Khurshut: uznix@narod.ru | Fishes of Uzbekistan
Last modified: 06.02.2010

www.uzspb.uz  
ОБЩЕСТВО ОХРАНЫ
ПТИЦ УЗБЕКИСТАНА
 
English

Международная рабочая группа по колпице

Информационный бюллетень

Издание №5
Апрель 2008 года

ОТ ИЗДАТЕЛЬСТВА

Пятый номер информационного бюллетеня "Колпица" вышел через 2 года после четвертого номера. В течении этого времени мы готовили Международный План действий по колпице для AEWA. Это был период интенсивной и интересной работы, в течении которого мы собирали информацию из 75 стран. Рабочий план был написан на английском языке, но также была подготовлена версия на французском языке. Поэтому план будет понятен и сообществу, говорящему на французском языке, в особенности, проживающему в Африке.

Этот информационный бюллетень включает некоторые тезисы, презентованные на рабочем совещании, которое состоялось в октябре 2007 года в национальном парке Джоудж (Сенегал). Эта встреча в основном была посвящена развитию Плана действий, и все обсуждения были сосредоточены вокруг действий, направленных на различные популяции.

Patrick TRIPLET, Otto OVERDIJK and MICHAEL SMART




Кольцевание колпиц в Узбекистане, 2008 г.

Евгения Лановенко, Институт зоологии, АНРУз

Узбекистан расположен в центральной части Центральной Азии между Туркменистаном, Казахстаном, Киргизстаном, Таджикистаном и Афганистаном. В первой половине XX столетия колпицы населяли разливы и озера рек Сырдарья и Амударья, их дельты и острова Аральского моря. Интенсивное развитие земель и водопользование в середине прошлого столетия явилось причиной Аральского кризиса, который в 1980-х годах привел к деградации дельт рек Сырдарья и Амударья. Колпица была в числе видов, которые потеряли их естественные места обитания. Известно, что в 1980-х годах на некоторых водоемах Аральского моря их колонии все еще существовали (Лукашевич, Аметов, 1986). Периодическое появление колпицы на водоемах центрального и южного Узбекистана в течении гнездового периода было отмечено в конце прошлого столетия. В настоящее время существует небольшая колония колпицы, которая достоверно существует несколько лет недалеко от г. Бухара на озере Тудакуль.

Подготовка международного Плана действий по колпице, начатого в 2007 году международной рабочей группой по колпице от имени AEWA показало недостаток информации о современном статусе этого вида в Узбекистане, необходимость изучения современного статуса этого вида в Центральной Азии и определения географических связей между птицами из небольших колоний, сохранившихся в регионе. Для реализации этих задач мы контактируем с Рабочей группой по колпице и студенческим орнитологическим клубом "Иволга" при бухарском государственном университете. В обоих случаях мы встретили интерес и поддержку. Рабочая группа предоставила инструкции и разноцветные кольца для маркирования колпиц.

Проект IBA в Узбекистане (который работает при поддержке программы BirdLife International, начиная с 2005 года) также проявил желание поддержать участие студенческого клуба в исследованиях на озере Тудакуль, которое является одной из 30 IBA, выделенных в республике. Руководитель клуба Мухтар Тураев пригласил инициативных студентов принять участие в этом проекте. Руководство проектом будет осуществляться через Институт Зоологии АНРУз национальным координатором переписи водоплавающих птиц Е.Н. Лановенкой.

Кольцевание проводится на протяжении нескольких лет. Информация о проекте будет размещена на сайте проекта IBA в Узбекистане www.iba.uz. В то же время информация о кольцевании птиц будет распространена через сеть проекта IBA среди студентов орнитологических клубов и экологических ННО, что поможет создать сеть бёдвочеров волонтеров. Мы надеемся, что люди из других стран помогут нам получить информацию, связанную с кольцеванием колпиц в Узбекистане.

Supported by: BirdLife International RSPB Darwin Initiative

При использовании материалов с сайта ссылка на источник обязательна
Материалы сайта подготовил Олег Кашкаров
  Вебмастер Эрнест Хуршут: uznix@narod.ru | Рыбы Узбекистана
Изменено: 28.01.2010